being a nomad

This is among the cooler things in life. Being a nomad and travelling with a herd through the steppe of Central Asia.

When I was in Kyrgyzstan back in May 2001 we visited a family, who still kept up the tradition. They invited us to try mutton (having seen the animal alive and eating it afterwards changes everything!). And we were able to attend and help with the assembling of a yurt, the traditional home of Central Asia.

I had to think about all of this because of this video I found on Adventure Journal:


 

I do not recall how long it took us. But my job was pretty simple, I had to hold one of the sticks that eventually make up for the roof.

Kommentar verfassen

